The grants will be up to a maximum amount of €5,000 for any one course or research project, but decisions as to the amount to be awarded in any individual case will be determined by the Trustees following a recommendation by the Advisory Committee, which initially assesses the applications received and then pass their recommendations to the Trustees for decision.  The Trustees’ decision will be final in all cases.

The three external pensions experts on the Committee are:

  • Chris Verhaegen, Former Chair of the Occupational Pensions Stakeholders Group at EIOPA and former Secretary General of the European Federation for Retirement Provision in Brussels
  • Peter Borgdorff, Peter Borgdorff Advies in Baarn
  • Peter Melchior, former Executive Director/Actuary of PKA in Copenhagen;

Founding Editor and Director of IPE Fennell Betson will represent the Trust on the Committee .  

The Committee will be able to access external advice in connection with fulfilling its role.

Academic Adviser

The fund’s academic adviser is

  • Diego Valero, who is Professor at the University of Barcelona and Academic Director of the LSE-Global Pensions Programme. He is chairperson of Novaster, a major Spanish pensions consultancy. He is a full member of the Advisory Committee.